Welcome to MJ Guide!

* Your Guide to the Wonderful World of Marijuana *

Survey
What is Your Favorite Way to Ingest Cannabis?

Pure Cannabis Joint
Mixed with Tobacco Joint
Blunt (tobacco outside)
Bubbler
Bong
Vaporizer
Pipe
Hookah
Eat In Food
Cannapsules (concentrated in capsule)
Chillum
Other (please specify)



Results | Polls
Recent Articles
· Cannabis As A Treatment For Arthritis
· T-Mobile Censors Medical Cannabis Texts!
· Top British Police Chief Calls for Decriminalizing Cannabis!
· California Union Supports Prop 19, Cannabis Legalization
· ATT FLORIDA!!!! HERE COMES MED MARJ HELP MAKE IT HAPPEN!!!!!

[ More in News Section ]
Recent Reviews
· Rhino Seeds
· Vip Wellness Center
· East Coast Evolution
· Canto Diem
· puff danny's glass boutique
· Good Karma Grower's Collective
· Marijuana-seeds.nl
· City of Angels Wellness Center - Hollywood, CA
· Sanctuary
· Los Angeles Patients and Caregivers Group
 
Bulldog
Amsterdam Netherlands
Bulldog Website

Rating:


The Original Bulldog

The Bulldog has been around since 1976, and the location at Oudezijds Voorburgwal 90 is the considered to be the first cannabis coffeeshop in Amsterdam (see photo above). The beautiful psychedelic paintings on the outside were painted over six years by an Australian artist, Harold Thorton. Now they have five coffeeshops in town, including one on the Leidseplein that was once a police station and still has some of the original jail cells where you can toke up, legally!

The Bulldog has become very commercialized as it's grown with souvenier shops, bike rentals and a low budget hotel. No longer does it offer the homey feel of other coffeeshops, with one exception.

The newest one, now called "The Lounge", on Spuistraat 7, is the class act of coffeeshops in Amsterdam, in a league of its own. Mahogany, brass, and leather dominate, lending an elegance and comfort never before seen in a coffeeshop. Add to this the mellow "lounge" music, a nice change from the pounding house music that most coffeeshops favor. The Lounge offers free internet access (with required drink purchase) on two machines and doesn't start charging for it when it gets busy as other cafes do. A most inviting space to surf the net.


The New Bulldog Lounge

However there is one big drawback to this new location. There's a "caretaker" (old black dude) at this location who watches over the place. Now normally this would be a good idea, since it's such a classy joint, to have someone who keeps everything clean and polished. But this individual acts like he owns the place. I've watched him sit down to a whole takeout meal in the middle of the place, turn up the TV (to where you couldn't hear the wonderful music anymore), and pretty much make you feel like you're invading his space. In addition he likes to smoke cigars (well, they do sell cannabis cigars here), and I've seen him harrasing the guests about putting things on their precious chairs ("do you know how MUCH these chairs cost?"), and I've had to suffer his staring glare and inquisitorial "can I help you?", like I shouldn't even be there. I've complained to the bartenders, to no avail. Oh, well, they could have LOTS of people coming there, but unfortunately I can't recommend this place until there's a change of personnel. Too bad. I was told he only works at night, but I've seen him there at all hours... Steer clear unless you like being glared at.


Topic: Coffeeshop Guide
Added: November 15th 2001
Reviewer: Skip

Related Link: Bulldog Website
Hits: 41748

Address:
City: Amsterdam
State:
Postcode:
Country: Netherlands
Phone:
Fax:
Contact:
Email:
More Info:


  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]
Comment on the Review: Bulldog

Your Nickname:

This Product Score

Your Comment:

HTML code isn't allowed. Please use the editor functions instead.


Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-22 02:37:08
My Score:

everyone said to me: `go to the bulldog, such a great one!!!` ***** bullshit, this coffeeshop should be called!!!

Bulldog
Posted by bros on 2006-03-27 14:00:02
My Score:

Always a good place to party and right next to the infamous Red Light Alleys. Noting like my favorite foursome. Fresh OJ, Coffee, Sex, and Weed. I'll be back!

Bulldog
Posted by bros on 2006-03-27 14:00:02
My Score:

Always a good place to party and right next to the infamous Red Light Alleys. Noting like my favorite foursome. Fresh OJ, Coffee, Sex, and Weed. I'll be back!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-03-03 16:34:35
My Score:

I think this is a good coffeshop but the price is not very cheap.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-15 10:55:43
My Score:

cheeky staff. treat u like shit on their shoe. only good point is the miniature white widow joints in a pack of 4 *****in wasted m8

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-08 13:57:42
My Score:

I thought this coffee shop was a nice place and the women who served us was very helpful and friendly!!! id defo go back to the shop!

Bulldog
Posted by jack on 2006-01-27 12:47:52
My Score:

this is a shitplace.the customers are treated like drugged idiots

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-01-25 16:30:26
My Score:

Went to one of the locations in the RLD and bought some Hash which really sucked. I was higher than a kite the entire trip but this coffee house was a bummer. The bar man was just a schmuck.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-01-11 03:00:52
My Score:

nice....

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-11-27 16:44:43
My Score:

When i go to amsterdam i try to stay near the leidesplein so that i can have the bulldog near by, it stands out which makes it a great meating point, i found it to be a nice place to have the first and last smoke of the day, i had good experiences with the staff but the selection of weedon sale is not the best........ chris collins oh and they do have one of the finest pre rolled reefers on offer here for those of you who cant skin up hope u enjoy it as much as i did

Bulldog
Posted by petemc on 2005-10-07 18:26:20
My Score:

Dont go to the bulldog at Leidseplein if u r already stoned. The crew can be very rude there they accuse u of being drunk even though i never drink. Many of the crew are from eastern europe and speak very poor english. The were also racist towards my girl friend

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-22 05:53:12
My Score:

nothin so bad except the weed. just didn't feel any impression.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-10 02:51:08
My Score:

exelent coffeee shop

Bulldog
Posted by Richy P on 2005-07-18 00:40:31
My Score:

There's a few of these Bulldogs cafes aren't they?
Well, we went to one which was pretty small, cramped and the music was too loud.
You can buy shrooms here.
We stupidly munched with an empty stomach.(We didn't even have breakfast). Tripped out around Dam and retired to our hotel just before a major trip took place.
Overview: Poor atmosphere, expensive weed but Grrrrrrreat shrooms.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-07-13 19:07:23
My Score:

Indifferent staff - they could care less. It's easy and all weed is good, but geeze.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-07-05 12:51:43
My Score:

Still high 2 days later!!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-28 05:04:36
My Score:

Bulldog SUX!!! biggest tourist trap in AMS!! Place is very loud (not a good place to chill) ambiance is overall shitty (except the former police station one at leidseplein...) and the bud was by far the WORST I got in all of Holland, and they make you buy bud in this discreet fashion in a dark corner, like their trying to hide something....I came here to experience freedom, not to buy shit like I do at home! Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else...

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-14 12:01:56
My Score:

nice place

Bulldog
Posted by NJ_Jimbo on 2005-06-07 17:29:44
My Score:

It was like being in a T.G.I.Fridays of Amsterdam. People who served us (if I could call it that) didn't seem like they even wanted to be there. The Cannibus tea was weak, the music was horrible and the crowd that hung out there killed what little buzz we had.

Bulldog
Posted by CaNaDa..YESSS on 2005-04-04 09:44:31
My Score:

Loved the Lounge, The black dudu too, he was awesome to us....the angry bartender too.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-21 18:39:30
My Score:

got a space cake and it was shit!

Bulldog
Posted by Chris & Kerry on 2005-03-07 17:09:48
My Score:

Too Commercialized for my liking , the weed was shit too say the least. I was there in sept and when to returned to the dam last week I didn't go near it. bolloxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Bulldog
Posted by John on 2005-01-27 11:58:14
My Score:

Man, what a BUMMER! I arrived at 9am. Plenty of unsavory crackheads around outside, boooooo,! So I walk in right, and the rank stench of piss, almost knocks me down BAM! Ok, so there is all of these cop badges all over the walls.Boooooo! very creepy! and The woman behind the juice bar is slammin things down and making all kinds of racket, and pissed off!!! Im lookin for hidden cameras the whole time...wondering why this woman is so obnoxious....I give her a tip anyway, cause she knew she pissed me off, and ruined my time. "Love your enemies. " right? yes, so suffice it to say I will never go there again. Booooo!

Bulldog
Posted by Ali G on 2005-01-06 14:12:37
My Score:

If you find yourself in this place do this (in the words of Bob Marley) "Get up, stand up..." and walk straight out again. Worst commercial bar in Amsterdam, not a place for those who love to chill and smoke. YOU ARE IN AMSTERDAM AND THERE ARE MANYMANYMANY BETTER PLACES..(in fact I haven't found a place this bad..ever!)

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-01-06 13:42:01
My Score:

This place would be great if you got rid of two things......the English and the alcohol (and by getting rid of the alcohol I mean those that serve it too!) Could be great but gone too commercial and is more like an English boozer you can smoke in. Avoid if you want to chill inside.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-01-03 14:39:06
My Score:

geiler coffeeshop schöne grüße aus österreich

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-01-02 20:12:18
My Score:

this place was fantastuic, it was my first time in amsterdam and this was the first cafe i visited, i did not see the big black guy as talked about in prev review- my boyfriend and i thought it was overall the nicest place we visited while in dam. i would recomend it to everyone visiting -we stayed in there all day at one point and the people behind the bar were so friendly- top quality weed too! definatley a must!

Bulldog
Posted by badboy on 2004-11-05 22:08:57
My Score:

Well phat geez! The gear was class and so was the sprout behind the bar- tops!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-17 22:39:33
My Score:

It was nice but that was the first coffeshop I wisit... Amience was good, the guy downstairs who sell weed was honest... next year I`ll be back... I`ll try others too... Anyway I recomended it...

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-05 04:23:13
My Score:

THE BARTENDER HERE IS A JERK.(THE ONE ALONG THE SINGEL IS THE LOCATION I'M SPEAKING OF) DONT GO HERE UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE HASSELED FOR BEING AN AMERICAN. I PURCHASED 4 DRINKS IN LESS THEN 45 MINUTES FOR TWO OF US, AND I GOT THE IMPRESSION FROM THE BARTENDER THAT, THAT WASNT GOOD ENOUGH TO WARRANT SITTING AT ONE OF THEIR OUTSIDE TABLES. ITS A SHAME THAT THE BULLDOG EMPLOYS THIS TYPE OF PERSON IN WHAT COULD BE A NICE PLACE TO HANG OUT AND PEOPLE WATCH.

Bulldog
Posted by BigD on 2004-09-13 16:03:02
My Score:

I dont want a picture

Bulldog
Posted by american am'damer on 2004-09-12 06:26:16
My Score:

It was alright. Didnt like the guy working at the weed counter, he could barely talk. The buds were ok, i got some silver haze but i've smoked better before. The atmosphere was pretty chill, but it wasnt really decorated too much. I really liked the prices though. If your on a budget stop here, the weed is good for the price (most expensive were 12 euros for 1.5 g.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-20 03:47:51
My Score:

cant say much about the bulldog, the place is very close to the girls and has a nice little patio area right on the canal but thats about it. dont buy here but take advantage of their location.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-01 19:23:02
My Score:

TOURIST TRAP. DONT COME HERE. Go to The Grey Area instead or this little place called Tweede Kammer (I think thats how you spell it).

Bulldog
Posted by Goods on 2004-05-26 19:08:54
My Score:

Huge tourist trap. The Bulldog in the Red Light District was a huge rip off. Whatever you do, don't get the pre-rolled joints. This is like the McDonald's equivalent of coffee shops in Amsterdam. You know the name, but also know that there are a hundred better places out there to get a good burger. It's the same thing with the Bulldog. The name might be familiar, but that doesn't mean that the product will be good. Avoid this coffeeshop if you consider yourself a serious smoker.

Bulldog
Posted by Steve on 2004-05-09 23:36:04
My Score:

Tourist Trap. Go if you must see it but generally not worth it unless you're already in the RLD. Staff was cool about letting you smoke your own stuff if you ording something to drink. Better smoke elsewhere, cheaper.

Bulldog
Posted by PiccadillyLily on 2004-03-12 08:42:35
My Score:

Loved the pot....but the "feel" of the cafe sucked! And it was the first one I visited in Amsterdam, just did not like it.

Bulldog
Posted by brunoAnonymous on 2004-03-03 01:50:45
My Score:

cant,wait to visit again bruce byron bay australia

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-24 03:15:35
My Score:

This place is more hype then anything. Went there because we thought we had to. Eccchh to the Bulldog.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-16 12:46:35
My Score:

The BullDog sucks big time!!! I hate the staff and the weeds better, not to mention cheaper, in Mexico. I made sure to call the server a "f*ck#ng @ssh*le" before i left. I hate that guy!

Bulldog
Posted by tiger on 2004-02-05 18:41:46
My Score:

horrible place and crap staff,my girlfriend passed out and they did not even help me out or offer he a drink of water !!! stay away from this hell hole !!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-12 20:33:38
My Score:

Very pleased with the Bulldog coffee shop we used (The Bulldog Lounge, Spuistraat 7, 1012 SP, Amsterdam) - the internal decor was very comfortable(more upmarket then many of the other coffee shops), superb music that was not too invasive and the staff were exceptionally friendly. A good choice of weed, with varying prices - we settled for Nepalese hash, some basic weed and then bought some crystal sensimelia (very strong and sweet weed) and were not disappointed with any of it (especially the crystal!). This particular coffee shop was the best we visited and we ended up spending most of the weekend in there.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-12 14:30:44
My Score:

Friendly atmosphere,not the best gear in the world though,ive had worse but ive had a hell of a lot better aswell. 6/10

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-09 00:25:40
My Score:

I loved it.

Bulldog
Posted by tarotgirl on 2004-01-06 18:50:07
My Score:

Well after walking thru the zoo all day a place to sit and smoke was most welcome. the weed was desent, the mood was a bit pushy, and I couldnt even find a damn lighter in the place. The cappicino was the best thing there.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-12-31 18:33:11
My Score:

i usually dont need to caugh when smoking hmm very strange (I wasnt the only one). bah leidseplein bulldog isnt as nice as peeps told me :S

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-29 20:53:30
My Score:

not the worst place by a long way homegrown fantasy is much much worse.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-28 17:14:11
My Score:

this joint was so bad i stole two ashtrays and left without buying any of the mexican brick weed that makes up all of the menu here

Bulldog
Posted by Boner on 2003-11-22 13:11:26
My Score:

been to 2 of their shops and both times weed was very good and always felt comfortable!!! the first time i went left via the side door (downstairs) and the first thing i saw after being wasted was one of the hookers with breast out "how mad is amsterdam!!!"

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-21 21:23:27
My Score:

when i went it was full of frech people praising chirac. the resident ladyboy made up foe it man she could suck a golfball throu a hosepipe enjoy

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-21 21:04:34
My Score:

im french and the dirty piss smelly place and the many of sexual deviants remind me of home. viv la france!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-21 11:24:29
My Score: Not Reviewed Yet

i love all the bulldogs!!!!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-09 18:03:47
My Score:

shit. a transvestite hooker grabbed my balls when i was there. ran for my life. never will go back

Bulldog
Posted by The Baron on 2003-10-25 03:46:11
My Score:

I can't say my experience at the Bulldog was as bad as those of many of the folks who've commented here, but I would have to agree that with all the coffee shops to choose from, there's no need to settle for this place. So-so smoke, snotty staff, and uncomfortable seating. Better off taking your business around the corner.

Bulldog
Posted by Alphabet Soup on 2003-10-20 13:50:26
My Score:

Snob waitress, shitty weed, and these places are poping up everywhere. The people who run these places act like stuck up asses. There are too many better places in amsterdam to waist even one minute in the Bulldog.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-17 04:37:42
My Score:

(I'm french) It's a sympatic coffeeshop while passing few minutes.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-16 05:22:05
My Score:

I don't know where all these five star ratings come from. This place has always been - and still is - a tourist trap. Full of yobs getting stoned instead of drunk. A complete rip-off and the rudest staff imaginable. Nothing about this place is the friendly stoner Amsterdam experience. Try somewhere else.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-29 00:21:36
My Score:

this is bullshit

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-11 10:03:41
My Score:

don't ever go to Bulldog....it's just a big tourist trap with shitty weed

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-03 11:52:42
My Score: Not Reviewed Yet

Bulldog Blows!!!!!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-31 13:43:23
My Score:

My wife and I recently returned from a holiday travelling Holland, both being pot heads we travelled the coffeeshops of Den Haague, Rotterdam and Amsterdam. We found that Amsterdam is the only place in Holland that had the quantity of coffeeshops that you had a variable choice of which type of music, which type of age group, which type of culture, with choices of good quality grass - hash we found that the Bulldog in general bearing in mind we stayed at the Bulldog Hotel and frequented various including The Lounge and with reference to the (black dude) I sat with my wife and had a very enjoyable conversation in which if you spoke to this man and found out a bit about him is a very interesting and very intelligent he has lived and worked all over Europe and speaks 7 european languages fluently and 11 in total to hold a conversation. We decided the Lounge was our type of environment i.e good service, friendly, polite, comfortable, clean and generally very good.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-30 14:18:38
My Score:

Myself and my partner have recently returned from Amsterdam and we really loved this coffee shop, we found the staff friendly and helpful. We also met and spoke to lots of different people. Very chilled environment.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-23 05:36:34
My Score:

major attitude - another coffeeshop that abhors teh sale of coffee - try and buy one - even on a Tusday afternoon - No No NO No hot drinks. Have a tiny glass of beer for £4 instead and we will half fill that with foam. Dont bother got up themselves thinking they wee something special, now teh domain of under age smokers and other losers

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-17 05:39:46
My Score: Not Reviewed Yet

oldest but not the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-08 18:34:02
My Score:

shit smoke, pricey drinks, rude staff, bu the one at Oudezijds Voorburgwal 90, is a cool dark place to chill downstairs

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-18 09:02:56
My Score:

Nice and dark, spent several hours chilling out When i visited it was quiet but definitely somewhere to chill in

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-12 09:49:05
My Score:

The staff are way too busy leaning on the bar, thinking of new ways to be arrogent to tourists to be botherd with you. Take your euro's somewhere where you not treated like dirt.

Bulldog
Posted by Right Wino on 2003-06-01 06:21:59
My Score:

Loved it! My wife & I went to Bulldog Oudezijds Voorburgwal sat in the window, timing the punters with the girls in the windows. Met some nice people in there and stayed for several hours. What a laugh. We were interested in some of the decor in there & the staff were only too happy to help locate similar items (thier goldfish in a lightshade !).

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-05-30 02:41:39
My Score:

Overrated, crowded, and full of tourists. My boyfriend almost passed out from heatstroke because it was so crowded and stuffy. Currently am planning my second trip to Amsterdam, and will skip this one. Only good thing was the proximity to a Haagen Daas.

Bulldog
Posted by dkh on 2003-05-29 14:57:05
My Score:

Owrth a visit for prosperities sake only really....Shame they ripped out the old bar....Changed the whole feel of the place....

Bulldog
Posted by XCJ on 2003-05-13 10:21:39
My Score:


Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-05-09 18:06:09
My Score:

worst coffeeshop i visited! guy behind the counter was creepy, and the pre-rolled 'white widow' joints contained what looked like mexican brick weed when split open for investigation.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-05-09 04:10:05
My Score:

best in town

Bulldog
Posted by cotabato87 on 2003-05-05 15:16:50
My Score:

My review is in regards to the Leidsplein location. I haven't been beck to A'dam since 1995 but remember this Bulldog location. If you're staying in a motel off the busy Leidsplein, you could pick a worse place to get high. The hot chocolate is good & all the smoke was pretty good too. Not of true conniseur quality but YOU WILL GET HIGH! Plus there was lots of room (unlike most shops in A'dam) to play chess or cards. I have fond memories of the hash joints i rolled there...plus there's a bunch of cheap eats nearby. Eventually the tourist vibe & loud music will have you moving to quieter places!

Bulldog
Posted by MellowD on 2003-05-04 23:44:48
My Score: Not Reviewed Yet

Either too commercial, or too rude. They missed the mark completely in my book.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-23 01:15:16
My Score:

What a jerks!! Some mobs selling hash (probably "special" tourist quality as well)

Bulldog
Posted by tomato on 2003-04-06 03:03:28
My Score:

in the heart of the square, we had a kickass eve. had me own smoke..... a great place to party no doubt. a late nite charm

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-01 20:10:21
My Score:

I was surprised at how the service and quality of product at this chain have slipped. They are only able to sell to people who are new to the scene and don't know the other shops are better.

Bulldog
Posted by grass on 2003-02-27 13:19:51
My Score:

it is hard to grade all bulldogs as they are all very different, overall they are expensive and depending on the individual coffee shop depends on the quality. i found the best bull dog was just down from the 1 above and played sum good alternative music aswell as house and trance i only know it as bulldog energy coffeeshop?? *

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-25 17:43:40
My Score:

not very polite or helpful plus the gear wasnt up to much ?

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-21 13:41:10
My Score:

The Bulldogs just plain suck!! All of them ! Really awful! There are too many other shops to go to to waste your time and money in a Bulldog shop.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-21 13:38:39
My Score: Not Reviewed Yet

Rubbish!!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-14 05:56:10
My Score:

should be renamed in 'BullShit'!!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-10 16:34:36
My Score:

fottuta merda!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-26 17:54:57
My Score:

i know better . ask anyone in holland whatis the worst place to go it would probably be a tie between this place and the grasshopper.i would only go in there to crap on the floor or laugh at anyone who's been there more than twice. the managment really has to do something and changing it's name is probably the best step

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-24 20:30:05
My Score: Not Reviewed Yet

I cant rate it...it is so poor...waah....!!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-17 16:23:38
My Score:

Awful!!!!!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-04 19:26:46
My Score:

THE BLOKE BEHIND THE COUNTER WAS LUCKY HE DIDNT GET A HIDEING, RUDE AND WHEN IT CAME TO GIVEING CHANGE, LETS JUST SAY HE DIDNT. I WAS VERY DISSAPOINTED WITH THE BULLDOG AND WOULD AVOID IT NEXT TIME

Bulldog
Posted by NYerInAmsterdam on 2002-12-06 05:00:21
My Score:

This is the McDonalds of hash bars. You pretty much have a 50/50 chance of good service. Sometimes they talk to people and are cool but usually they are dicks. The weed is OK but you're best to get it from somewhere else and have a hot chocolate at the Bulldog, they are definitely good...get the hot chocolate with the weed in it of course

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-11-29 10:26:45
My Score:

I loved the Bulldog, it was my first smoke in Amsterdam ever!!!probably why i enjoyed it so much!!got VERY VERY stoned VERY VERY quickly, the gear in that place is incredible!!!!!!took 'shrooms whilst there also, sent me UNDER!!!DEFINITELY recommend the Bulldog, for a chilled, quality smoke!

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-11-07 10:19:17
My Score:

The Hot chocolate was lush

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-10-21 16:20:46
My Score:


Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-10-08 21:18:26
My Score:


Bulldog
Posted by Bon Bon Billy on 2002-08-22 08:24:06
My Score:

The dealer will talk to tourists and recommend, that's their business but there are many more shops with better quality products and atmosphere. Rating 4...recommeded for those who smoke only when in Amsterdam and not looking for high quality products. Nice tourism stop only.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-08-15 16:09:38
My Score:

Not bad if you are from the UK

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-08-02 12:56:51
My Score:

OK, so they sell weed. If they were the only place in town that did so, then they would be cool. But since plenty of coffeeshops exist in Amsterdam, i will steer clear. They sell pure joints, but you must buy four of them. I purchased "4 high quality reefers," paying dearly for them. Smoking these nasty smelling joints really took me places, such as right back to high school in the US where we couldn't find anything better than Mexican dirt weed. sad. very sad. i guess the atmosphere is the best part of the place. nice bar and all. the service was decent as well, especially considering how many of my fellow tourists were packed in there. however, the quality of the herb is the key, so i give this place an overall rating of 4 in 10. :(

Bulldog
Posted by Doc SpliffY on 2002-07-28 14:32:42
My Score:

1st time i went into this place i thought not bad sat down before i could look at the menu some trashy ***** asked me am i going to order.I said sure give me a chance to look at the menu.(only been in this place 10 seconds)talk obout pushy.Brought some sensi which tasted like shit sat there 10 more mins and waited for some sort of high..hey if i stayed all day i would still be waiting

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-07-09 08:24:46
My Score:

As said in the review, this place is mainly visited by tourists. The Bulldog is well-equipped, with nice decors and lightning. If you really like to experience a unique atmosphere in a Dutch coffeeshop, then it's best to visit one of the smaller ones instead of this 'mass smoking' chain. Another dissapointment was the the smoking-menu. The offered menu does not satisfy the needs of people you would just like to try a little bit, say 1 joint. Everything is sold in rather large quantities.

Bulldog
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-02-16 22:59:38
My Score:

Nice atmosphere and GREAT lighting. We spent the better part of four hours eating mushrooms and smoking hash here our first day. I didn't see the old black guy, so I can neither confirm nor deny the previous writer's comment about the rudeosity of the owners, but the fat guy behind the bar was pretty cool once we got some mushroom tea in our bloodstream. Oh yeah, the first thing I learned in Amsterdam was not to ask the bartender what he recommends from the menu. He'll make you look like an ass in front of everyone.

Bulldog
Posted by sizequeen07 on 2002-01-10 00:30:23
My Score:

I really liked the Bulldog...it was a nice environment, comfortable and had good music. As far as the weed selection went, it was decent. I liked how you could buy mushrooms there, I didn't see that at many other coffee shops. There were three Bulldogs, but the first one was my favorite and is definately worth checking out.