Welcome to MJ Guide!

* Your Guide to the Wonderful World of Marijuana *

Survey
What is Your Favorite Way to Ingest Cannabis?

Pure Cannabis Joint
Mixed with Tobacco Joint
Blunt (tobacco outside)
Bubbler
Bong
Vaporizer
Pipe
Hookah
Eat In Food
Cannapsules (concentrated in capsule)
Chillum
Other (please specify)



Results | Polls
Recent Articles
· Cannabis As A Treatment For Arthritis
· T-Mobile Censors Medical Cannabis Texts!
· Top British Police Chief Calls for Decriminalizing Cannabis!
· California Union Supports Prop 19, Cannabis Legalization
· ATT FLORIDA!!!! HERE COMES MED MARJ HELP MAKE IT HAPPEN!!!!!

[ More in News Section ]
Recent Reviews
· Rhino Seeds
· Vip Wellness Center
· East Coast Evolution
· Canto Diem
· puff danny's glass boutique
· Good Karma Grower's Collective
· Marijuana-seeds.nl
· City of Angels Wellness Center - Hollywood, CA
· Sanctuary
· Los Angeles Patients and Caregivers Group
 
Johnny
Amsterdam Netherlands

Rating:

I usually stop by Johnny's whenever I visit the Jordaan to rest my legs and my mind. The outside wicker chair seating is comfortable and enticing on warm days. The staff is very friendly. Inside it's a bit cramped, yet cozy. The music is usually good, never at odds with the mood of the place.

Located right on the small Johnny Jordaanplein, it's a rather pleasant location. The only drawback lately had been some construction nearby, but hopefully it'll be finished soon.

The shop seems popular with the locals, as they can be seen popping in on their way home after work to pick up a little "pick-me-up". I gather they also do a decent morning business as they have early hours for a coffeeshop.

I once had an extraordinary experience here. I met god. Or so he claimed. He looked more like a genetic cross between Aqualung and Charles Manson. We had a very intense conversation, and he got too excited, and started screaming. The staff had to ask him to leave, and a few minutes later we heard him over in the urinoir on the corner yelling at the top of his lungs "fuck god" over and over...

Fortunately, that god isn't a regular at this otherwise pleasant coffeeshop.


Topic: Coffeeshop Guide
Added: November 30th 2001

Hits: 14415

Address: Elandsgracht 3/H
City: Amsterdam
State:
Postcode: 1016
Country: Netherlands
Phone: 020
Fax:
Contact:
Email:
More Info:


  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]
Comment on the Review: Johnny

Your Nickname:

This Product Score

Your Comment:

HTML code isn't allowed. Please use the editor functions instead.


Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-05 22:43:49
My Score:

Friendly people and staff, ok products. Had my morning smoke there a few days while visiting. Liked this place and Noon very much.

Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-17 19:09:27
My Score:


Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-06 11:49:24
My Score:

I've lived here for about two-three months now and Coffeeshop Johnny is definitely turning out to be my favourite coffeeshop so far. They somehow convince me more and more every time I visit. Johnny's is a neighbourhood coffeeshop stocking only solid connoiseur class. The menu consists of about 4-5 varieties of weed and perhaps around ten (?) varieties of hash. I don't know about the hash part but I have to say that there is something fantastically right about their green. The allround effect of all the varieties (despite their obvious, and as a menu, very tastefully balanced differences in appearance and effect) is one of rich and subtly complex simplicity, representing the universal virtues of true craftsmenship: honest good will accompanied with a healthy concept of self, crystallized in the form of pure unpretentious expertese: an earthy approach to the world of loved and controlled differences that never seize to produce good outside themselves. This is the kind of One to my liking! The White widow and Jack Herrer here are, unlike some other places, exactly what you think you should expect them to be. They also have (although unfortunately out at the moment) on their menu Superskunk, a classic for us folks that are not always looking for the strongest of the strongest of the strongest. And these guys at Johnny's really take pride on that item. The style is all together «lo-fi»: people expecting to hear fancy adjectives related to fancy Hazes go to Greenhouse or the Tweede Kamer! These fellows express their knowledge of the industry with firm and explicit sentences: «The Bubblegum really slams your head!». Even though you are left wondering just a bit about all the details you have The Trust: you understand what they're saying and know in your heart you will not be disappointed. Coffeeshop Johnny's has no need to make fuss about its business; the tokers in the neighbourhood form a steady flow of happy clientele. And I'm smiling thinking about joining that group! Now I bet you're a little doubtful if all this loose and disordered romantic murmur can really be backed up? My opinion: try their product and then start looking for a correlation on any level you desire. Coffeeshop Johnny makes you feel good about yourself! It is very easy and also very nice: by bringing your money to them you project yourself to all the good values that they possess and represent. There are a few must places for «picking up the goods» in The Dam and in my opinion Johnny’s is one of them. Their weed really does all the tricks necessary, not to forget that you’re in for a pleasant surprise when you see the prices! Perdé

Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-23 15:00:42
My Score:

so cooooool

Johnny
Posted by Ky smoker on 2005-12-06 07:46:09
My Score:

The selection is small but impressive. This is by far my favorite coffeshop in the Dam. It is not a big tourist shop and their is so good!

Johnny
Posted by slo on 2005-09-14 06:04:59
My Score:

Yeahh, this is what I came to Amsterdam for, a friendly little shop with a nice view of the canal that sells weed at rock bottom prices. Not far off the mark for what I was looking for. I didn't even look for a menu, I just told him what I wanted and he hooked up some bud suited to my taste and wallet. Good for the tourist who wants to get away from the crowds.

Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-28 09:10:06
My Score:

my first stop whenever im in town =)

Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-21 23:30:38
My Score:

FUN IS FOR ALL PEOPLE

Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-23 02:42:14
My Score:

We tripped across this place by accident while on escape from the US a few years back. The place was empty so we strolled right up to the bar and occupied all 2 stools. The dutch dude was very friendly and we sat and shot the shit with him for hours. We sampled just about everything on the menu. Before we left, we had him roll a bunch of those tight, filtered Dutch style joints. Our request was to leave out the tobacco filler, and roll it straight 'Widow. Needless to say, we returned several times to purchase & to have him preroll all our Js. Obviously a local place due to the constant stream of locals taking it to go. Don't forget to tip generously!

Johnny
Posted by Pooptoad on 2005-01-27 12:15:40
My Score:

Roughly speaking, Amstrerdam has two types of coffeeshop. There are the establishments in the heart of the city which are generally of a reasonable size and are targeted for the tourist market. Unsurprisingly, the prices tend to be a bit higher in these "tourist" coffeeshops. The second kind of smoking establishment is the smaller shop, generally located nearer the outskirsts and catering for the local population. They are sometimes refered to as "neighbourhood shops". Johnny, (small and located outwith the centre) is a fine example of such a coffeeshop, the kind of place where local Dutch people come to buy their smoke before taking it back home with them. This is not a shop which bohemian tourists come to admire Periain rugs or psychadelic mosaics of dolphins. Smokers come here to buy good value, non pretentious grass and hash, and sometimes simplicity is as good as it gets.

Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-10 20:40:43
My Score:

what can i say..

Johnny
Posted by Dawniet on 2004-04-06 11:55:09
My Score:

We stumbled upon this excellent shop..quiet by accident as it was close to where we were staying.Super...cool dutch guy serving...nice reggae vibe goin' on, pre rolled joint made me almost explode with laughter....wicked high! coffee good and strong. Quiet small inside...however,still room to display their latest hand crafted designs(ashtrays etc.)

Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-17 15:00:49
My Score:

Best of the best, really friendly people and the quality and prices compare with the rest are the best. Open at begin of december, i am told, because of renovation.

Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-02 08:51:27
My Score:

the best from most coffeeshops i visited. they are closed now because of renovation but they will be open end of november 2003.

Johnny
Posted by Brotherhemp on 2003-09-17 07:41:58
My Score:

Very cool place. The second coffeeshop I ever visited. Has a mellow vibe, similar in nature to a neighborhood bar. One of my faves.

Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-11 10:08:51
My Score:


Johnny
Posted by The guy that that eats gr on 2003-07-12 21:50:04
My Score:

I Liked the look of the shop but when i entered i got a few strange looks i dont know y but i think it may have something to do with the tendency to punch myself in the face uncontrollably for several minutes. My buddy Metu the troll came to my rescue with his twelve foot long rope which he set on fire and proceeded to eat it accidentally.if he wasnt a Troll he would have died but look!!!HE IS!! About twenty minutes later there was prob a crowd of approx 254 people crowded in this little goblin infested watery kinda street like winding in motion with some kind of i dont know how to say it .flisaerf s[0dfbsrf gpsf MOTION!! I climbed to the top.I was the first one there.Oh how proud would my Mother be?Prob not very seeing she hates me and all but like thats another story all together,oh ha ha ha ha!! YES!!!!!but this time i wont ever!

Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-26 10:27:37
My Score:


Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-05-11 03:40:29
My Score:

Perfect.

Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-23 01:11:15
My Score:

Great coffeeshop. Very friendly staff. A must when you visit Amsterdam.

Johnny
Posted by KY Boy on 2003-01-21 03:09:04
My Score:


Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-08-30 13:22:41
My Score:

Go Johnny Go, Johnny B Good

Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-05-29 15:35:10
My Score:

Johnny quickly became my "Cheers" when I spent a year living in Amsterdam. The owner and staff are incredibly friendly and the vibe is extremely mellow and neighborly. I miss my days spent in Johnny terribly. Do not pass it up, it is in one of the nicest parts of A'dam--and say hello to David (I hope the old guy is still there). Tell them "Hello from New York."

Johnny
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-03-11 18:47:11
My Score:

Great local shop! The staff was great. The regulars tend to sit at the bar (kind of like Norm and Cliff) so don't take their seats. Very friendly. I dropped in by accident and stayed for the rest of my visit.